Home Page

Our Governors

St Mary’s Catholic Primary School 
School Governors – 2017 - 2018
Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do. Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life.
The two key documents used for this are the School Improvement Plan (SIP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SIP sets out a three-year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.
Our legal duties include:-
· setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
· approving the school budget
· reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
· appointing, challenging and supporting the Headteacher
The Full Governing Body meets twice every term. We have sub- committees to look at specific areas (such as pay, performance management, buildings development and curriculum). A small group, that includes the head teacher and the school business manager, meets twice a term to keep an eye on school finances between our full governor meetings. All governors are informed about what happens at these finance meetings.
There are several categories of a governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are the Local Authority (“LA”), Parents, Foundation and Staff. All governors have equal status, however, they are appointed.
We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at our school.

Officers to the Governing Body
Mrs Carmen Tweed - Chair, Local Authority Governor and Building Fund Manager 

Donal Collins  – Vice Chair, Foundation Governor

Sandra Dugan – Foundation Governor
Dr Anthony Cheung – Foundation Governor

Fr Pio - Foundation Governor
Mr Doug Savege – Foundation Governor

Mr Roger Lillie - Foundation Governor

Mrs Anne Berger - Foundation Governor

Mrs Giovanna Roberts  – Parent Governor

Ms Kate Erricker – Parent Governor
Miss Penny Sherborne – Staff Governor Headteacher

Mr Stephen O'Donnell – Staff Governor



In attendance at meetings:
Mrs Cathy Glendinning – Local Authority Clerk

Mrs Julia Quehan - Seconded Assistant Head


Resource Committee
Mrs Carmen Tweed
Miss Penny Sherborn

Dr Anthony Cheung

Mr D Savege

Curriculum Committee
Mr Stephen O'Donnell 

Dr Anthony Cheung
Mrs Giovanna Roberts 

Mrs Sandra Dugan
Miss Penny Sherborne

Pay Committee

Mrs Carmen Tweed
Miss Penny Sherborne

RE Self- Review Group (not solely for Foundation Governors)

Mrs Maria Martinez & Mr Stephen O'Donnell (RE Managers)
Mrs Clare Fox (Staff and Parishioner)

Headteacher’s Performance Review Panel

Mrs Carmen Tweed

Mrs Giovanna Roberts

Our Governing Body meetings are usually held in the evening. We attend training sessions and seminars to help us keep up to date with changes in schools and education and to help us do our job effectively. We also go to the school to monitor and meet with the Pupils, Teachers and Headteacher, to help us find out how the school is progressing towards its targets.